Autumn days

Ok a tiny part of me is still holding on to an Indian summer : ), but many of my fellow bloggers are already writing about the changing season,hunting in the hedgerows for blackberries and sloes, walks in the country wearing skinny jeans,woolly jumpers& boots and baking apple crumbles.MMmmmmm I’m feeling all Autumnal already!
Thinking back to my childhood, having grown up in the countryside on a farm and attended the local village school, the different seasons all had their own attractions.Autumn was such a lot of fun! I remember playing conkers with my friends,picking damsons and crab apples for Mum to make jams and jellys,waving goodbye to the migrating swallows and running from cheeky schoolboys bearing itching powder made from crushed rose hip seeds mixed with flour. Hmmm I wonder if today’s kids know how to make Itching Powder??
I also have been thinking about a hymn we used to sing in school assembly and harvest festivals called Autumn days which has brought back to life those memories of Autumn for me, and it had a catchy tune too. I looked up the lyrics and so here they are:

Autumn Days Lyrics

Autumn days, when the grass is jewelled
And the silk inside a chestnut shell
Jet planes meeting in the air to be refuelled
All these things I love so well

So I mustn’t forget
No, I mustn’t forget
To say a great big thank you
I mustn’t forget

Clouds that look like familiar faces
And a winters moon with frosted rings
Smell of bacon as I fasten up my laces
And the song the milk man sings

So I mustn’t forget
No, I mustn’t forget
To say a great big thank you
I mustn’t forget

Whipped-up spray that is rainbow-scattered
And a swallow curving in the sky
Shoes so comfy though they’re worn out and
they’re battered
And the taste of apple pie

So I mustn’t forget
No, I mustn’t forget
To say a great big thank you
I mustn’t forget

Scent of gardens when the rains been falling
And a minnow darting down the stream
Picked up engine that’s been stuttering and
stalling
And a win for my home team

So I mustn’t forget
No, I mustn’t forget
To say a great big thank you

I mustn’t forget

Autumn days by Estelle White

What are your memories of Autumn?

7 thoughts on “Autumn days”

  1. Shiny conkers, rosy apples, scrunch leaves, morning mists, first frosts, harvest festivals… And the itching powder – we were unlucky to have a rose hip bush at the school gates – argh! Happy days ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Forgot all about the itching powder.
    Kids today aren’t allowed to play conkers at school like we were. Damn dangerous game you know-or so they tell me. Some kids used to cheat-cooking them in the oven to make them harder, soaking them in vinegar or varnish. All types of ingenious things.

Leave a Reply

