Carnation milk jelly :)

image

Here is a pudding my mum used to make my siblings and I when we were little.It is incredibly quick and simple to whip up and children will love it.:)

I was only reminded of it whils’t glancing through my copy of ‘ Miss Dahls Voluptuous delights’ by Sophie Dahl. This is a lovely cook book by the way! In it I found her own family version named after her sister Clover.

Clover’s Carnation Jelly

image

Serves 4

1 packet of strawberry jelly
125 ml/half a cup of hot water
1 can evaporated milk
slices of strawberry
swirls of cream and curls of grated chocolate to decorate if you wish.

Dissolve the jelly in the hot water.when cool, whisk in the evaporated milk until thick and frothy.Leave to set for at least two hours.Decorate with whatever you like! Sophie says the camper the better 🙂
I kept mine simple, strawberry slices and wafer daisies.

image

Enjoy x

9 thoughts on “Carnation milk jelly :)”

  1. Oh, used to have that when I was little & lived in the UK. Not sure if Carnation Milk has made it on to the supermarket shelves in Sweden. Nostalgia!

  2. This takes me right back to my childhood too, my Nanna used to make this for me. I love your idea of serving it in tea cups it looks gorgeous! I discovered a recent tip about carnation milk, it whips up easier if you leave the tin in the fridge overnight before making this. I will definitely be making a batch this week. Thanks for the inspiration.

Leave a Reply

