Making Tea cup Candle’s :)

Hi my #BEDM post today is supposed to be about my first job but as I am still working in my ‘first job’ and have been for about a gazillion billion years I am wandering off the topic today. I know i have blogged about how to make a tea cup candle before but I thought I would do a fresh post for any new followers who may have a penchant for vintage teacups.:-D

I think they make lovely gifts as they look adorable and if made in a bone china tea cup the candles give out a pretty translucent glow.

You can also scent your candle with a heavenly fragrance.I buy mine from Justasoap Today I shall make a couple of Rhubarb & Custard scented one’s.:-D

image

You will need:

A bone China Tea Cup ( Pick one up from a car boot or charity shop).
Soy Wax Flakes.
Pre waxed Wick.
Metal sustainer.
Blu tack.
Two long matches or reed difuser sticks.
An old microwavable jug.
An old fork or spoon.
Fragrance oil.

You can buy your candle making supplie’s such as wicks,wax and sustainer’s quite inexpensively on Ebay.

image

Method ( Makes one candle).
1) Thread your wick through the metal sustainer and attach to the bottom of the teacup with a small blob of blu tack.

2)Hold your wick in place inbetween two long match sticks or reed difusers.

3)Pour two teacups full of wax flakes into your jug and bob in the microwave on a medium heat for 2 mins  or until melted.

4) Stir in your fragrance oil if desired.

5) Pour the melted wax into your teacup and leave a couple of hours to set.Trim the wick with scissors if needed when set.

And Voila your candle is ready!
image

If you don’t have a microwave simply melt your wax in a small pan inside a larger pan of water on a low heat.

You can also use paraffin wax instead of soy wax if you wish though soy wax is more enviromentally friendly.

If you don’t fancy making one yourself why not take a look at Mrs Tibbs Teacups N Candles on facebook.:-D

This post is part of the Blog Every Day in May challenge over on Rosalilium.

4 thoughts on “Making Tea cup Candle’s :)”

  1. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation
    but I find this topic to be really something that I think I would
    never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad for me.

    I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

