Five from my Bookshelf:)

I’ve been a very bad book worm of late and quite neglected my reading ( except for the lovely blogs I follow 😉 ), so I have had to raid my book shelf for some old favourites that I have enjoyed in the past.
DRACULA: I remember reading Bram Stoker’s classic vampire tale whils’t staying in a cottage in Staithes near Whitby.Bats venturing out at dusk there really added to the eerie atmosphere as I followed Jonathan Harker, Mina and Dr Van Helsing on their quest to destroy the  mysterious and evil Count Dracula.
LET THE RIGHT ONE IN: More vampire’s again in this swedish chiller.( I do love Vampires:-D)Twelve year old Oskar is a loner, bullied at school and unsettled at home.When he meets the secretive Eli a romance tentitively blossoms between them.But she has a dark past … and present.She is a 200 year old vampire forever frozen in childhood,and condemmed to a diet of fresh blood.A heartbreaking tale  of friendship~the swedish subtitled film version is excellent too.

image

A LION CALLED CHRISTIAN: Love this true life story about a lion cub bought from Harrods as a pet in 1969 who quickly outgrows his owners flat and London lifestyle.Happily the tale doesn’t end in Christian being placed in a zoo.With the help of the Born Free Foundation his owners  reintroduce him into the wild…..and there is a touching reunion.x

image

ALICE’S ADVENTURES IN WONDERLAND & THROUGH THE LOOKING GLASS: ok I have actually just reread these magical stories by Lewis Carrol.I would love to have a Mad Hatters Tea Party oneday with everyone dressed as the characters.Could I be The Cheshire Cat ^^?
THE EXMOOR FILES How I Lost A Husband And Found Rural Bliss: Not everyone is a fan of the Mail on Sunday columnist Liz Jones but I have to admit I still can’t help but read it every sunday.I loved this book she wrote about her move from London to the country so she could home her rescued animals.Its an amusing read but Liz being her own worse enemy hasn’t helped herself since then.Often complaining about her neighbors in print didn’t really ingratiate her  with them.The saga continues in her sunday column.

Are you a fan of any of these books?

image

This post represents day 11  in the #BEDM challenge on Rosalilium.

Leave a Reply

