A Very Merry Unbirthday Party. :)

My sister and I before the guests arrived.
My sister and I before the guests arrived.

As I was celebrating a BIG Birthday this month I decided to treat myself and my friends to a vintage tea party at my favorite tea rooms Callooh Callay in Clitheroe. Callooh Callay is of course a line in the poem ‘Jabberwocky’ featured in ‘Alice Through The Looking Glass.’

Oh Frabjous Day, Callooh! Callay!

So to tie in with the Wonderland theme of the tea rooms I asked my friends to dress either in Vintage clothes ( any era), tea dresses or characters from Alice In Wonderland. I was going to have my own Mad Hatters Tea Party !
Before the party my friend Becky and sister Yvonne came over to mine to get ready and we enjoyed a couple of glasses of Babysham garnished with cocktail cherries. How very retro 🙂

I had my hair done in a 1950s style.
I had my hair done in a 1950s style.

We all wore outfits inspired by the 1950’s. Becky bought a very swishy swing dress adorned with red cherries, I wore a polka dotted version of a wiggle dress and Yvonne found a cute tea dress off ebay.

Enjoying our Babychams.
Enjoying our Babychams.

The table was laid with beautiful vintage china. playing cards hung from the ceiling.
The table was laid with beautiful vintage china. playing cards hung from the ceiling.

A Cheshire Cat Teapot.
A Cheshire Cat Teapot.

My friend Kaye searching for her street on the floor map of our home town.
My friend Kaye searching for her street on the floor map of our home town.

For the tea party we were served delicious sandwiches and quiche on china cake stands, tasty chicken waldorf salad and butternut squosh salad and then a sublime selection of cakes ~ scones with clotted cream and jam, Bakewell tart and chocolate brownies. Callooh Callay doesn’t serve alcohol but you can bring your own for private parties , so I made sure to buy in some fizz. 🙂

Scones and strawberries dipped in chocolate.
Scones and strawberries dipped in chocolate.
Little bags of sweets were   provided for all the guests.
Little bags of sweets were
provided for all the guests.
What a spread!
What a spread!

Manchester 001

Manchester 002

very merry unbirthday 042

My friends all looked so beautiful and really made an effort which was fantastic. I had an amazing time. Look at my cake !

Liz brings in the cake.
Liz brings in the cake.
My Cheshire Cat Cake !
My Cheshire Cat Cake !

Liz at Callooh! Callay! and her staff did a fabulous job of making my Very Merry UnBirthday Party an evening to remember. There was such attention to detail ~ silly party games,a fun quiz, Giant tissue flowers, Alice In Wonderland animation playing on a big screen etc. I suspect I missed some of the decoration as I was having such an amazing time. Thank you Callooh ! Callay !

very merry unbirthday 014

very merry unbirthday 048

12 thoughts on “A Very Merry Unbirthday Party. :)”

Leave a Reply

