Classic Chick Flicks ~ Rebecca.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Lawrence Olivier and Joan Fontaine star in Rebecca.
Lawrence Olivier and Joan Fontaine star in Rebecca.

‘ Last night I dream’t I went to Manderley again’ is the famous first line of Daphne Du Maurier’s novel ‘Rebecca’ … and the first line in the 1940 film directed by Alfred Hitchcock. This spooky love story is one of my favourite classic films. A young woman ( Joan Fontaine) falls for the charming Maxim De Winter ( Olivier), while’st working as a paid companion to a rather snobby lady holidaying in Europe. After a whirlwind courtship they marry and he takes her back to his family home in Cornwall , the sprawling gothic manor, Manderley.

Meeting in Monte Carlo.
Meeting in Monte Carlo.
Manderley.
Manderley.

Getting used to married life and helping run a large estate is hindered by the domineering presence of the housekeeper Mrs Danvers. She favors Maxims first wife, the bewitchingly beautiful Rebecca, who died in mysterious circumstances. Mrs Danvers does everything she can to make the new lady of the manor ( we never find out her name strangely) feel gauche and inferior in comparison.

Maybe this dress will impress Maxim do you think? Mrs Danvers said so.
Maybe this dress will impress Maxim do you think? Mrs Danvers said so.
Whose that behind you........
Whose that behind you……..

With Manderley full of memories and maybe even ghosts of the deceased Rebecca and Maxim distracted by some dreadful secret, our heroine certainly has a tough time of it. Hitchcock, a master of suspense as always will keep you gripped and enthralled until the firer’y finale.

Do you have a favourite Hitchcock film?

8 thoughts on “Classic Chick Flicks ~ Rebecca.”

  1. This is one of my all time favourites!! Although the line ‘I suppose you think I should be making love to you behind a palm tree’ gives me the giggles every time 🙂

  2. I love old films-and Hitchcock ones are great. I haven’t seen this one though, will try and catch it sometime. My kids love The Birds! My mum went to see Psycho twice when it came out, and still screamed at the shower scene for the second time.

    1. I’m such a scaredy pants that I still havn’t seen The Birds or Psycho! But I have recently watched the film about Hitchcock starring Anthony Hopkins which is about the making of Psycho~ which has inspired me to watch them.I actually havn’t seen many Hitchcock films , only Rebecca, Marnie, The Lady Vanishes and To Catch a thief. Must remedy that!

  3. Reblogged this on sunshine and celandines and commented:

    As I’m a bit of a Lazy Bones, I thought I would re blog some old posts , on the lead up to Halloween. I do enjoy watching a good old black and white movie, especially one full of creepy suspense like Hitchcock’s adaptation of Daphne du Maurier’s ‘Rebecca’.

Leave a Reply

