Pear and Mint Chocolate Tartlets

Here’s a vintage cookery post from Cathy’s kitchen over at Red Rose Style. I love this cook book too so I think she may have inspired me to make something from it at last. Mouthwatering photography Cathy. 🙂

Red Rose Style

The Vintage Tea Party Year is the most beautiful cookbook that I own!The recipes are framed by delicious illustrations of partying animals going about their classy soirees. All of the food looks amazing, but it also often looks rather pricey and difficult to make; the first pie requires pigeon breast, and there are instructions on how to make swans out of choux pastry! Definitely above my skill level! But when there are fox ladies drinking champagne who needs to make the actual food!

DSC_0276

However I decided that I should give at least one recipe a go, so I leafed through and picked out the ‘Pear and Mint Chocolate Tartlets’, mainly because the instructions seemed pretty straight forward and I recognised all of the ingredients and could pick them up from Morrisons!

DSC_0343

DSC_0250

So the first step was to poach four peeled pears in a red wine mixture flavoured with mint, cinnamon, vanilla


View original post 540 more words

3 thoughts on “Pear and Mint Chocolate Tartlets”

    1. I do have two of her books. Have a feeling she might have done a baking book too ~ not totally sure. They are lovely to look at. You and your other half make a good team.:-D

      1. Ooh, I will have to keep an eye out for the third book, may as well have a complete set! 🙂 Good luck with whichever recipe you pick to try out!!

Leave a Reply

