Captured On Camera ~ Old Family photographs.

My maternal grandparents going for a spin.
My maternal grandparents going for a spin.

A while back I looked into my Family tree and compiled a bit of one on an ancestry website. It all got slightly to complicated and I was bogged down in dates and census records.Aaaagh! Anyway my poor abandoned tree is still up there for the world to see…and me to go back to , If I suddenly get the urge to find my great great great Grandfather on my Mums side. I did discover a few things though. So far there are no rich gentry amongst my ancestors. I apparently descend from peasant farmers and coal miners. And at least one of them was a bigamist! So hey ho ๐Ÿ™‚

I do love looking back at names and the different fashions and trends. In my family ‘Mark’ is a popular boys name, with my Grandfather,brother and two cousins sharing the title. Alot further back in time there are several Fenwicks and a Parker named as my male ancestors. While Mary, Elizabeth and Jennet appear for the girls.

One of the best bits about compiling a Family Tree I found was getting my hands on a few old photo’s. Mum had saved a few from both sides of the family and let me scan them. Its quite interesting to see your ancestors captured on camera. The older the photos, the more stern faced everyone on them seem to be!

Anyway a recent post by Andy over at City Jackdaw , featuring old photographs of people posing with their pets (its a great blog ), inspired me to route out some of my old pics. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here are my paternal Great Grandparents posing with their offspring outside in the farm yard. Sad there are no sheep dogs in the picture. :(
Here are my paternal Great Grandparents posing with their offspring outside in the farm yard. Sad there are no sheep dogs in the picture. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
Here's my Great Grandmother 'Phoebe' in her Sunday best. :)
Here’s my Great Grandmother ‘Phoebe’ in her Sunday best. ๐Ÿ™‚
My maternal Grandmother and my Great Aunt Lily ~ you didn't want to get on the wrong side of them. ; )
My maternal Grandmother and my Great Aunt Lily ~ you didn’t want to get on the wrong side of them. ; )
Grandma,Auntie June, Mum ( as a little girl) and my Grandfather. My Grandma made all my Mums clothes as a child. Quite a talented seamstress.
Grandma,Auntie June, Mum ( as a little girl) and my Grandfather. My Grandma made all my Mums clothes as a child. Quite a talented seamstress.
Great Aunt Lily playing cricket on Southport beach.
Great Aunt Lily playing cricket on Southport beach.
And here's my Dad as a boy. Looks like he's been out Foxing. :(  It was simply part of growing up in the country in those days. ( late 1940s).
And here’s my Dad as a boy. Looks like he’s been out Foxing. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It was simply part of growing up in the country in those days. ( late 1940s).

It can be quite nice looking at old pictures. All my Grandparents died when I was a child or teenager , so it is good to see that they did have fun times in their younger days. I especially liked the fact that my maternal Grandparents enjoyed taking rides on a motorbike. ๐Ÿ™‚ Something I could not imagine them ever having done, when I knew them. Its good that photographs capture all sorts of moods and memories. Sometimes I guess they are all we have left of a person.

I will leave you with a picture of myself and my sister……and a very cute sheepdog puppy…..from our days growing up on the farm.

I remember making lots of daisy chains. :)
I remember making lots of daisy chains. ๐Ÿ™‚

Any old photographs you would like to share !

17 thoughts on “Captured On Camera ~ Old Family photographs.”

  1. I love this post, really interesting and wonderful photos!
    You, your Mum and Yvonne all look just the same as adults as you did when you were children ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. This is a lovely post. I really enjoy finding out about ancestry and people’s past. I did the same thing where I joined up to ancestry.co.uk and looked into my ancestors, they were mainly farmers and even paupers in the workhouse at one point! It also brings up a few interesting questions about your family. It’s a really enjoyable process, isn’t it?

    Saskia / girlinbrogues.com

    1. I’m on there too. I got quite far back with one side of the family ~ and like you, found that most of them were poor farmers etc. One day I will get back to it ! x

  3. Great photographs! Great post-you are helping to keep their memory alive. And that photo of you-butter wouldn’t melt ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Fab – you always come up with such interesting blog posts ๐Ÿ™‚ I looked into our family tree with my dad but we were only able to go back so far on the internet and then got completely stuck. It was quite disappointing as we found it was really interesting/addictive! I love looking at old family photos ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I remember making lots of daisy chains too & also lambs tails – where you took one long daisy and threaded on just the heads of lots of other daisies to make a fluffy looking tail ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Yes. But it gets expensive checking records doesn’t it.I paid for a month ~ but didn’t want to keep paying. New census has been published since I last tryed tracing though ~ so maybe in the future I will go back to it.x

  6. Fab photos! I’ve done quite a bit of my family history, it’s really interesting (we’ve got a bigamist in the family as well!) although a large amount of my ancestors were all from one area of North Wales, all with the same surnames and quite a lot of them married each other! It certainly makes for frustrating research! ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

Leave a Reply

