Downham delights.

A place I love to visit is the nearby village of Downham. Situated at the foot of Pendle Hill it has a picture postcard feel and holds many happy memories for me. 😀

002
My old primary school.

Downham was where myself and my sister and two of our cousins went to school. Its tiny village primary was where I listened in awe to our teacher Mrs Hall reading us ‘The Lion, the witch & the wardrobe’ , enjoyed  countless games of rounders & cricket on the school field and became tangled up in the brightly coloured ribbons of the maypole .I to this day have no coordination !

Typical village cottages.
Typical village cottages.

Downham today still has that unspoilt olde world charm. Although my old school is now a nursery and the village shop has sadly closed , visitors still flock here to admire the quaint cottages & picnic by the stream. There is a lovely pub, ‘The Assheton Arms’ and a friend of mine has recently opened the ice cream shop/cafe on the green.

Michelle in the door way of the cafe with a selection of home made cakes. :)
Michelle in the door way of the cafe with a selection of home made cakes. 🙂

Yummy cakes & desserts.
Yummy cakes & desserts.

Michelle and her hubby Dave took on the shops leese at the beginning of summer and added their own charming little touches to the decor. They sell hot & cold drinks, sandwiches, delicious home made cakes ( baked by Dave’s sister) and a multitude of flavours of ice cream. Wil and I tried the pistachio and orange & chocolate chip flavours, which we found to be truly divine. 🙂 Also proving popular with ice cream loving visitors is the ‘Downham Delight‘ , three scoops of whatever flavours of ice cream you desire , smothered with every conceivable tempting topping you can imagine. I will try it one day!

Ice cream!
Ice cream!

The village brook. Popular  for paddling and picnicking.
The village brook. Popular for paddling and picnicking.
Taking a dip. :)
Taking a dip. 🙂

Our time in Downham was spent wandering round the village and of course eating our delicious ice creams. Then we went for a drive over Pendle which was covered in vibrant purple heather bloom. A perfect afternoon. 🙂

St Leonards Church.
St Leonards Church.
Pendle Hill from the church yard.
Pendle Hill from the church yard.
The village green cafe opens every day except Monday and Thursday ~ 10-5pm.
The village green cafe opens every day except Monday and Thursday ~ 10-5pm.

Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Downham delights.”

  1. Sounds like more than a perfect afternoon to me! I adore English country village gems like this and a small, family friendly feeling environment. That ice cream sounds yum!!
    🙂 xo
    Oh and my childhood memories of The Lion, Witch and the Wardrobe are of me hiding in my Nana’s huge wardrobe in her spare room because there was a fake fur coat in there and I thought if I squeezed my eyes tight enough, Narnia might just be there when I opened them.

Leave a Reply

