A Celebration of Black Cats ~^^~

Recently I found myself some what astonished by the information that black cats in animal rescue centres are usually the last moggies to find homes. 😦
As the human of a black cat called Slinky ( named after the mischevious storybook kitty) , I can asure cat lovers that black cats are just as lovable, annoying, naughty and adorable as any other variety. I speek from experience, having always had furry felines in my life, of differing sizes and colours.

image
Slinky Malinki.

Of course black cats are often asociated with superstition and witchcraft, especially at this time of year. In the middle ages they were often percieved to be witches familiars or even witches in disguise. And the myth that a black cat crossing your path is bad luck is still a superstition some people believe, like a broken mirror or not walking under a ladder. It is easy to logically see why a smashed looking glass can be bad luck…but not a cat….unless you trip over him! Who am I to speek though.I always have to greet any solitary magpie I see with a cheery hello…..

image
A rather bewitching witch and her companion.

In any case doesn’t the magic and mystery surrounding the black cat make them more alluring. I’ve been having fun on Pinterest collecting beautiful images of le chat noir. 🙂

image
Moi !

image
Love Cats. 🙂
Playful Puss.
Playful Puss.

image
Moon Moggie.

image
Chat Noir Poster. Le Chat Noir was a Parisienne nightclub in the late 1800's.

image
Chasing leaves.
image
Black magic.
image
The Owl and the pussy cat.
image
1960's advertisement for Christian Dior featuring a black cat.
image
Slinky Malinki was blacker than black by Lynley Dodd.
Pumpkin Puss.
Pumpkin Puss.

I devote this post to all the Midnights, Jets, Buntys, Bouncys, Kingstons, Tommy Sues, Boos, Miles, Maus, Sisis and Slinkys out there ~ black cats who have been the beautiful kitty companions to myself or various friends and family over the years.

What are your thoughts on black cats?

13 thoughts on “A Celebration of Black Cats ~^^~”

  1. I love black cats – we have two tuxedos who are mostly black with a bit of white (and apparently just as hard to home as black cats, the ‘interesting’ markings get picked first). Since I found out I’ll make a point of choosing a black cat as they are just as loving and beautiful.

    1. Aw your cats sound adorable. 🙂 Slinky has a small patch of white under her chin. She had a hard start to life, bless her as she was abandoned in a box with her brothers and sisters one cold winter. She was the only one to survive.Happily she did.x

  2. Sophie, a huge black moggy, was my first cat (a rescue) and she was funny and loving and full of personality. We now have, amongst others, a black dog who has the HUGEST personality of all our menagerie as well as award winning eyes and ears! I don’t understand why they always get left til last at the rescue centres, I guess they have to wait for the extra special owners 🙂

    1. black cats are adorable….as are all kittys.Love them.Feeling a little sad as my mums ginger tom Teddy has just passed away ( which is very sad ;( ) and sadder still , Mum is saying she doesn’t want any more cats, after a life time of always having at least one in the house.Hope she changes her mind. Think im reverting back in time to teenage sulking
      😦

  3. I love black cats! I had a big fat black cat called Frodo. He was so lovely, always wanted to sit in the middle of whatever was going on, especially if that meant he could sit in a box! I would happily take in another black cat one day!

Leave a Reply

