What to look for in Autumn ~ A Ladybird Nature book.

I’m not sure whether I have left it a little late to take my What to look for in Autumn Ladybird book out and about. After all November is not particularly Autumn like, in that the best of the seasons colours are fading away. Today however was fine and sunny so I made the most of the afternoon and had a mooch down the river. Unfortunately I think everyone else in my hometown had the very same idea. Oh, I don’t like to share !

I love the Ladybird What to look for books, which were published in the 1950s. I have managed to collect three of the seasons ( Summer, Autumn & Winter) and they are interesting to look through ~ especially to see how the countryside has changed over the years. They are illustrated beautifully by artist Charles Tunnicliffe, whose work was also used in the novel Tarka the Otter and on Brook Bond Tea cards. 🙂

Here are a few of the photographs of my afternoon and the star of my shoot ( tee hee ), my What To Look For In Autumn Ladybird Book.

My walk started out somewhat Pear shaped.
My walk started out somewhat Pear shaped.
Leafy track.
Leafy track.
Beautiful Barn Owl.
Beautiful Barn Owl.
Hawthorn berries.
Hawthorn berries.
Amongst the beach nuts.
Amongst the beach nuts.
Autumn colours.
Autumn colours.
Yarrow husk.
Yarrow husk.
Snow Berries.
Snow Berries.
By the river.
By the river.
Handsome Pheasants.
Handsome Pheasants.
Crunching.
Crunching.
Munching.
Munching.
Holly.
Holly.
Heading home.
Heading home.

Do you have any Ladybird books?

6 thoughts on “What to look for in Autumn ~ A Ladybird Nature book.”

  1. That looks like a lovely book. We used to have loads of Ladybird books – I remember the Jungle Book and a Winnie the Pooh one. I wonder what happened to them?

Leave a Reply

