Lets go London!

A friend and I are planning a few days away in London in May. I am super excited!  Its been five years since I have visited the nation’s capital, so its been far too long. Accomodation shouldn’t be a problem as my friend has a wonderful brother who has agreed to put us up.Yay!  In celebration of our future trip, I thought I would list a few places in the city I’d like to visit. Be assured, my present stab at ‘Healthy Eating’ has not dampened my enthusiasm for ‘Afternoon Tea’s’. A couple are mentioned in this post. :))

image
Natural History Museum on Cromwell rd is one of several Free museums in London. It houses a multitude of exhibits from the natural world including the iconic ‘Dippy’ in the grand entrance hall. Learn more here.

image

I love the look of this colourful alleyway in ‘Covent Garden’. Neal’s yard houses health food cafes and shops including Neal’s yard Dairy( an artisan cheese shop) and Neal’s Yard Remedies. Such vibrant colours.

image

No trip to the city is complete without a ride on the London Eye. The giant ferris wheel on the south Bank of the Thames has amazing views ( it is Europe’s largest ) and takes 30 minutes to spin you round the city’s famous landmarks. Book tickets here.

image

Fancy an Afternoon tea and sightseeing in one ? The Afternoon Tea Bus Tour run by BB Bakery takes you round the sights of central London on a vintage routemaster bus, whilst you enjoy a delicious selection of tasty sandwiches and cakes. What a fabulous idea!

image

The Shard wasn’t even built on my last visit to London. It would be pretty amazing to drink in the views ( and a glass of champagne ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) from the viewing deck , 800 ft above ground. See for yourself here.

image

Karl Marx, Douglas Adams, George Elliot and Christina Rossetti are just a few of the famous names who are at peace in London’s Highgate Cemetery. I for one, would love to take a tour of the west side of Highgate, known for its many gothic tombstones and elaborate mausoleums. This fascinating cemetery has English Heritage Status and has grown into a nature reserve too. Read about it here.

image

I’ve been to ‘Harrods’ when in London but never that other iconic department store Liberty of London on Regent street. The tudor style facade houses an elegant shopping emporium with swish elevators and glass atriums.And the famed Liberty Print fabrics of course.

image

We would love to indulge in afternoon tea in such decadent surroundings as the Savoy. Its terribly expensive but what a treat…with a pianist playing as you enjoy dainty sandwiches and fancy cakes. The Thames Foyer Afternoon Tea is one of many that can be sampled in the city.

image

One thing we have booked already is a trip to the theatre. Outdoors! Regent Park in central London holds outdoor performances through the summer. We shall be seeing Peter Pan. We may need our brollys!

image

And another must for us crazy cat ladies is a dining experience with a difference. Lady Dinahs Cat Emporium in Bethnal Green is a cat cafe , where you can cuddle up to a kitty , whilst eating a famous ‘Brick lane Bagel’. The cats are all rescues and the emporium is their home and you are their guests.I’ve been to ‘Le Cafe de Chats ‘ in Paris and enjoyed it, so would love to visit Lady Dinahs as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

What would you like to see and do in London?

As I write this post my thoughts are with the people of Paris, a beautiful city , I hope to visit again soon.

15 thoughts on “Lets go London!”

  1. I’ve been to Highgate cemetery. In a similar vein, go downstairs in St.Martin-In-The-Fields in Trafalgar Square. You can’t beat a good coffee in a crypt ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. You are welcome. If you search on my blog ‘Coffee’ my post Coffee In The Crypt will come up, if you want to check it out.

  2. The afternoon tea bus looks amazing! And no trip to London is complete without a look around Libertys! An open top bus tour is my favourite way to see the city so you can hop on & off.
    Enjoy! I need to plan my next trip too x

  3. Open top bus tours are the best! I would love to do the afternoon tea one but I don’t think my friend wants to. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But we will be having some kind of afternoon tea, be assured!! X

  4. Wow, I had never come across the afternoon tea bus but I am determined to do that – amazing! You’ve got quite a few of my favourites on there too, I love the open air theatre too.

    1. I think i would have to have a few trips to do my entire list. I think that afternoon tea tour bus would be amazing though. Highgate is very much somewhere I would like to explore for a day…..with my camera of course.X

  5. You have some great things on your list. I’ve seen the afternoon tea bus around and looks like a great think to do, its on my list also!
    My top place for afternoon tea in London is the Mad Hatters Afternoon Tea at Sanderson Hotel – you would love it!!!
    As for Liberty’s I’m a fan and am likely enough I can pop in on my lunch break!
    Cant wait to see everything you do. X

  6. I have seen the Mad Hatter’s tea too and it looks so quirky and delightful. I wish I could try every afternoon tea in London! You will have to try a few for me as you live so local. X

  7. Oh my! My daughter and I HAVE to visit the “Kitty Cafรฉ” next time we are in London ~ that is too much fun. We enjoyed tea at Fortnum & Mason and it was lovely. The pianist, however, made us laugh. At first the music was classical, a piece from ‘Persuasion’, and then he played a Disney movie song, and then ‘Crocodile Rock’!!

Leave a Reply

