January Jottings.

I thought I would start a series of  round up posts of bits and pieces that I have enjoyed and discovered each month. Hopefully I will stick to it!   I’m a bit rubbish at keeping up with things. But I will give it a go. 🙂 So without further ado, here is what I have enjoyed about January.

wpid-img_20150106_191908.jpg

Books ~ Keeping up fine with my personal challenge of reading one book a month.Doesn’t sound a lot as I used to read tons. Then I lost my reading Mojo! Shhhh don’t say anything but I think I’ve got it back.:). Picked up The Miniaturist one winters afternoon and couldn’t put it down. Swiftly followed by The Curvy Girls Club and now ( rather behind the times) whizzing through Gone Girl. So busted my target already. 🙂

wpid-img_20150125_101048.jpg

Films ~ If you like rom coms, 50’s fashion and France , then you may also like Populaire , a french film that combines all the above in a tale of a clumsy secretary, a speed typing competition and a dishy Professor Higgins type. Saw Cathy’s recommendation on her lovely blog and rented the dvd straight away.Loved it! Also enjoyed the rather silly but fun chick flick ‘The Other Women’ , starring Cameron Diaz and Leslie Mann. And another flirty film set in France Chocolat which was on freeview recently. Mouth watering chocolate and a youthful Johnny Depp. Whats not to love! 😉

Travel ~ This month I was lucky enough to spend a week in a cottage on the coast. Being able to walk on the beach every day ( even in January! ) was a dream come true. It has made us want to get away to the seaside again and we are now thinking of booking somewhere in Whitby, near the end of the year. 🙂 I’m also planning a few days away in London in May. Can’t wait!

A beach in Winter. Baycliff near Ulverston.
A beach in Winter. Baycliff near Ulverston.

App ~ Being January, I thought I had better try and make a bit of an effort to lose some weight! My fab work colleague Hermione told me all about My Fitness Pal which is a free calorie counting app you can put on your mobile. If you like making lists like me, its a great and easy way of tracking your calories and fat intake. My new pal first helped me work out how many calories I should be eating each day. Then I logged down what I ate for each meal from the gigantic food database. You can also add food to the database, though I think it has just about every edible item going on it. And it takes into account any exercise you do too. Oh and it memorises the foods you log, so you don’t have to search for them again. Soo is it working? Well, Yes! I’ve lost 4 pound…..and not for once, through paying for a weight watchers meeting!

Nature ~ Saw my first wild snowdrops of the year in the grounds of ‘Conishead Priory’ and spied oystercatchers, curlews, redshank and shelducks whilst holidaying in Baycliff.

Oystercatchers.
Oystercatchers.

What have you enjoyed about January?

6 thoughts on “January Jottings.”

  1. thanks ever so much for the ‘Populaire’ movie recommendation! I thoroughly enjoyed it and have recommended it to a friend. My new favorite January app is Runtastic, even though for me, it’s Walktastic : ) It is a GPS tracker that records my route, elevation, and tells me how many calories I’ve burned. Pretty good motivation. I’ve walked more this month, read more, and cooked more meals at home – and my messy house proves it!

  2. Love the film Populaire! Saw it at the cinema when it came out, the costumes in it are great. I wrote a blog piece about it at the time.
    Well done on the weight lost I really need to take a leaf out of your book. X

  3. I have the film Populaire sitting on my watch pile, will have to see it now.

    It is marvellous to spot snowdrops they seem to survive against all the odds.

    Well done you, for meeting your reading targets and weight loss.

Leave a Reply

