Back to Barley.

Birds and Barley 022

The Pendleside village of Barley and the surrounding area are fast becoming a favorite haunt of mine. Back in october we walked the Pendle Sculpture Trail with some friends. Since then we have returned a couple of times with our labrador pup Hugo. On Sunday the sun shone so we headed over the hill and I snapped a couple of photos. Unfortunately Pendle itself was shrouded in mist. A spooky reminder of the areas witchy connections.

Birds and Barley 019

Mist over Pendle.
Mist over Pendle.
A friendly little robin.
A friendly little robin.
Batty for bats.
Batty for bats.
Sun rays.
Sun rays.

Birds and Barley 026

Witchy tile.
Witchy tile.
Broomsticks.
Broomsticks.
Rosehips in February!
Rosehips in February!
I think Wil might have swapped me for this lovely lady!
I think Wil might have swapped me for this lovely lady!
Snowdrops in Barley.
Snowdrops in Barley.

I’m sure we will be returning again as there are still a few sculptures we keep missing out on. And the Barley Mow pub in the village has just reopened. Both Inns there do food and are dog friendly. So where better to go for a walk and a bite to eat!

Bye for now.

6 thoughts on “Back to Barley.”

  1. Your posts always remind me that I need to visit Pendle. There is an older guy who works with my wife-he lives in a caravan there. I’m sure we could call for a brew, dunk a biscuit or two, then excuse ourselves to go and walk a witch trail 🙂
    Ps love the bats and the tile.

  2. What a lovely place, your pictures are so good that I feel I have been on the walk with you! The snowdrops are so beautiful – I saw a drift of them this morning on my walk, the grass around was frosty but the sun was breaking through. it made my day.

Leave a Reply

