Mellings Vegetarian Restaurant ~ Whalley.

My lovely friend Lisa and I decided to catch up over lunch yesterday. We headed to the nearby village of Whalley where our venue of choice was Mellings situated on King street ~ the main road through Whalley.

As soon as we stepped inside we knew it was going to be our kind of place. The lovely shabby chic interior dotted with vintage touches and fresh flowers welcomed us in from the cold breezy day outside.

image

Lisa is a vegetarian so we were intrigued to test out the menu. I think Mellings may be the only completely vegi place to dine in the Ribble Valley. They are also happy to cater for vegan and gluten free. We were pleased to see a varied selection of dishes on both the menu and the Specials board.

image
I had Chick pea cake with salad. Was delicious.
image
Lisa enjoyed her tempura vegetables.

Our food was home cooked and tasty. Although i’m not a vegetarian myself I was pleasantly surprised. I was also completely in love with the decor. 🙂

image

image

image

Of course we had to try out the puddings too!  Lisa had the fruit crumble and custard and I had the Mellings Mess. Oh so delicious. 🙂

image
Winter warming crumble.
image
Mellings mess.

We were so thrilled to discover this lovely restaurant right on our doorstep. It opens Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings too so I sense an evening out in Whalley coming on soon. Oh and they serve afternoon teas as well!

Vegetarian and Vintage. A tearoom treasure indeed!

8 thoughts on “Mellings Vegetarian Restaurant ~ Whalley.”

  1. My Mother in Law lives in Whalley and she’s been excited about this place opening! I think she’s been in to nosy at the menu for inspiration, so she can cook for me! Bless. We’ll definitely visit next time we’re in the area!

Leave a Reply

