Park Life ~ April.

April in Clitheroe Castle’s grounds might just be my favourite time of year. So many planted flowers and shrubs are bursting with colour right now as well as luxurious carpets of celandines and forget me nots. You cannot fail to meet a squirrel on your stroll around the park. And melodic bird song accompanies you wherever you go. Enjoy the piccies.

april park 021
Celandines and dandelions.
april park 026
The Castle Keep.
april park 029
Beautiful blue skies and spring blossom.
Chaffinch.
Chaffinch.
This Coal tit looks like he is drowning in food.
This Coal tit looks like he is drowning in food.
Bluebells.
Bluebells.
Tulips and forget me nots.
Tulips and forget me nots.
The obligatory squirrel.
The obligatory squirrel.
Flowering Magnolia.
Flowering Magnolia.
Pied wagtail on the bowling green.
Pied wagtail on the bowling green.
A thrush with her breakfast.
A thrush with her breakfast.
Vivid blue forget me nots.
Vivid blue forget me nots.

I thought I would post these before the expected ‘April Showers’. Happy Friday. :0)

15 thoughts on “Park Life ~ April.”

    1. I never know what to think about magpies. My friend always says Hello Mr Magpie if she sees one on its own as she believes its bad luck to see a solitary one. Now I do it too! I feel if I don’t something bad will happen……..funny how superstitions can get you like that!

      1. I know what you mean, I know a few like that. One person salutes them. Way back in high school. A friend and I bored in Biology used to pass the time that the teacher was talking by counting the magpies on the field out side. I still remember him cutting the teacher off with “No way, Andy-twenty-five magpies!!!”

  1. Super flower pics – I just adore bluebells, especially when they are en masse. We have had fewer celandines this year, but instead the buttercups are prevalent – looking sunny and happy.

  2. Magnolia trees are simply gorgeous, the flowers are really thick and papery! such a lovely picture and a great outing!

    I can’t believe this weather! I actually have tan lines! (on my feet!)

  3. Fab!! you’d have loved to have had your camera handy here earlier this week. There was a golden pheasant roaming around our Glaisdale to Egton Road. The RSPB thought it to be a captive escapee. Such a beautiful bird! Quite a shock to the eye to see it!

  4. Lovely pictures and some my spring favourites. I really love magnolia – no real idea why. The mistle thrush too is gorgeous. I have one nesting this year right outside my kitchen window. As for magpies, I confess I both salute and say ‘Good Morning’ or ‘Good afternoon’.

    1. There is some beautiful wildlife living in the park. Am determined to record as much of it as possible through the year. Glad I am not the only one who has to acknowledge magpies!

Leave a Reply

