Butterflies.

At the weekend I spent a good hour ( minus a butterfly net, I need one! ) chasing butterflies. When I took part in #30dayswild back in June, we were sadly lacking in butterfly action here in the North West. July though, and those flutterbys are everywhere. I think the eruption of summer flowers such as thistles, meadow sweet and meadow cranesbill plus the mild weather has coaxed them out of their cocoons. ๐Ÿ™‚ As well as the butterflies spotted below, I spied Cabbage Whites and a Peacock butterfly that I couldn’t catch on camera.

Meadow Cranesbill.
Meadow Cranesbill.
Comma.
Comma.
Indian Balsam.
Indian Balsam.
Dragonfly.
Dragonfly.
Meadowsweet.
Meadowsweet.
Painted Lady.
Painted Lady.
Speckled Wood.
Speckled Wood.
Tortoiseshell Butterfly.
Tortoiseshell Butterfly.
Oh Hello there!
Oh Hello there!
Any ideas? Not sure what these little butterflies/moths are?
Any ideas? Not sure what these little butterflies/moths are?

I hope to see a few more species over the summer. Oh if you like flowers, you may enjoy my little giveaway , two posts before this one. :))

14 thoughts on “Butterflies.”

  1. Not seen many butterflies. Definitely no dragonflies, and was out and about on Tandle Hill yesterday. Here we put out food for the birds in Autumn and Winter, and plant flowers for birds and bees in the Spring and Summer. Between us, I think our household just may save the world ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I recommend NHBS if you want to buy a butterfly net – they have some good things at reasonable prices. My insect sweep net was from there as it’s great. (The cheap plastic-y nets from on the street shops can damage butterfly wings and insects). That last one is a skipper though without a proper look I couldn’t tell you if it was a small or large skipper – I always forget which is which as they are so similar!

  3. Agreement with previous comments, Small Skipper.
    Note the very orange wing with no speckling/dots (look up Large Skipper and you will see what I mean by that). Also, the tips of the antennae are orange I think, so not Essex Skipper (whose antennae look like they’ve been dipped in black ink – I saw one last week: https://mshersby.wordpress.com/2015/07/19/when-two-become-one/)
    And a male, due to the black line one the wing.

    Also, your dragonfly is a damselfly – much smaller, and dragonflies never rest with their wings up like that. It looks like it might be a female Banded Demoiselle, but I admit that I am out of practice with damselfly identifcation.

    Lastly – does one need a net for butterflies? I would use a sweep net for other insects, but the scales on butterfly wings come off quite easily which means I am very reluctant to use a net for butterflies. I would rather use my camera for catching them. My own personal opinion, I don’t know what the consensus is among naturalists.

    1. Thanks for the Ids Megan. I don’t know my insects very well so its great that you looked at my post. I’m sure I won’t get a net. I think i was just imagining myself as a victorian butterfly spotter! As you say capturing them on camera is best. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

