Apple Pressing Day.

Now my tipple of choice down the pub is cider. I’m not a lager or real ale fan  so when Dove Syke Cider in nearby West Bradford held their annual Apple Pressing Day , I dragged the other half to the mini Cider Festival they were holding to celebrate the event.

October is the time when all the apples are pressed to make the cider and that day Dove Syke is opened to the public. Everyone can help out by bringing their own apples to be pressed.:)

cider fest 001

Enthusiastic helpers sorting the apples. :)
Enthusiastic helpers sorting the apples. 🙂
Apples about to be squished.
Apple’s about to be squished.
The Apple Pressing Machine.
The Apple Pressing Machine.

cider fest 009

cider fest 014

The pulp is pressed into cakes which isn't wasted. It is used as fertilizer and also goes to a nearby farm to feed the pigs.
The pulp is pressed into cakes which isn’t wasted. It is used as fertilizer and also goes to a nearby farm to feed the pigs.
The apple juice ferments until next spring when it is turned into cider.
The apple juice ferments until next spring when it is turned into cider.
Voila! Here's some cider. ;)
Voila! Here’s some cider. 😉

We certainly enjoyed the selection of ciders on offer at Dove Syke Farm . Think we tried them all!  Flavours we sampled included the original Ribble Valley Gold, Elderflower, Cranberry, Strawberry and Rhubarb. The hot mulled cider was delicious too. 😉

cider fest 004

cider fest 026

Erm think we may have had one to many here!
Erm think we may have had one to many here!

cider fest 025

cider fest 020

Camping was available. Maybe next time.....:)
Camping was available. Maybe next time…..:)

We only stayed through the afternoon. That cider is strong stuff! As we left the festival was getting busier and more local bands were getting ready to entertain folks. Food was being served too. The atmosphere reminded me of a friendly Lancashire hoedown. 🙂

Are you a cider drinker?

10 thoughts on “Apple Pressing Day.”

  1. I’m like you (and my Dave is too) – love cider but don’t do ale/lager! I’d love to have gone to this event! I’ve been to Dove Syke for a nosy (but it was closed) and sampled RV Gold in a pub in Waddington – it was good!

    1. I forgot to say earlier – I thought that was a brilliant question you asked about UK wildlife I’d love to see – I’ve been thinking about it all weekend and decided after reading it that I’d answer it with a blog post! It may take me a week or two to get around to compiling it and publishing, but I will answer the question soon.

    2. It is good….and pretty dangerous if you have to many! I think Dove Syke is only open to the public a few times a year. They go to lots of food festivals though.x

    1. Ha i was never really a student and didn’t actually get into drinking cider until i met my friend Fi who would drag me to the local social club for cheap pints of strongbow. I still love strongbow too, I’m not a cider snob! ;0)

  2. Love Cider! What an awesome festival! Your photos certainly capture the spirit of fun. It is so wonderful to see such a traditional event still being celebrated and it also is a joy to know traditional cider making is still being done!

    1. Thanks! I think they may possibly be the only cider makers in Lancashire so it was pretty special and lots of fun. I did get stung by a wasp though. Forgot to put that wasps love apples and cider too!

Leave a Reply

