Candles, Cakes and snowdrops.

February is here and at last there is hope that Spring is round the corner. The 2nd of February is celebrated as Candlemas Day in the Christian religion. Candles are lit in churches to symbolise Jesus,hope and light. Before Christianity the day was known as ‘Feast of Lights’ and celebrated the daylight hours increasing as winter gave way to spring. Whether you are religious or not, it is lovely to light candles around the home. I am sat writing this post with the lovely scent of my favourite Earl Grey Tea scented candle filling my nostrils. 🙂

 

Driftwood2 157
Snowdrops I saw last year at Conishead Priory.

Snowdrops have been known as Candlemas Bells and according to superstition they should not be brought into the home until now. A bunch of snowdrops symbolise  the ending of Winter and looks beautiful in a little vase. I bought my snowdrop plant today and hope to replant it in my flower bed……once the stormy weather wanes.  Even better why not see snowdrops in all their spring time glory on one of many Snowdrop walks in the UK.

In Anglo Saxon times February was known as Solmonath which is apparently translated as Sun Month and Mud month. The mud seems very appropriate after today’s Mud Bath – esque walk with Hugo!  The Saxons baked Cakes for their God’s in February. This seems like a good excuse to me to bake a cake or even better why  not book an Afternoon tea for you and a friend.  Here are a few places I’ve enjoyed  Afternoon Tea 🙂, always guaranteed to cheer you up on a drizzly day.

london 059

Enjoy your February. 🙂

15 thoughts on “Candles, Cakes and snowdrops.”

  1. I love snowdrops! Our garden borders are slowly filling up with the ones I planted last Autumn. Once the stormy weather abates I’ll be out there picking some to stick in a little vase! The stories/myths behind them are something I’d never heard before; this was really interesting!

  2. Lovely blog yet again! I love the idea of Candlemas, I may light a candle tomorrow! I think many religions have a festival of light in one way or another. I must say it is very nice to see the lighter evenings beginning to draw out. I planted Snowdrop bulbs a few years ago and last year they never grew, but this year I may have a few coming up?! Fingers crossed! 🙂

  3. I’d never heard of Candlemas before (despite being brought up in the CofE), yet this weekend I came across two references to it online quite by chance, and then visited Leicester Cathedral just before their Candlemas service. Then today, I pop by your blog and what do I see… more Candlemas! Weird how life works like that sometimes.

Leave a Reply

