What to look for in Spring ~ A Ladybird Book.

Spring is well and truly here ( along with lots of April showers!) , so on Sunday I took  my Ladybird Book ‘ What To Look For In Spring’ out and about for an impromptu Photo Shoot. Ladybird Books were part of my childhood, though it is only in the last couple of years that I have started collecting the What To Look For series. Now I have all four seasons, I think I will expand my collection to include some of the other Nature titles. 🙂 It was interesting to compare the pictures in the book ( beautifully illustrated by naturalistic painter Charles Tunnicliffe) with  life in the countryside today.

My photos are from two walks I did with the dog  ( and Wil!) in my local area. I’ve included a few written extracts found in ‘What To Look For In Spring’ along with my pictures. 🙂 This Ladybird book was published in 1961.

ladybird spring 010
Blackthorn Blossom.

ladybird spring 012

‘By the first week of April the lambs that were born in February are large enough to enjoy springtime games. The blackthorn is now in full blossom’

The lambs I saw were catching the sun’s rays and the lacey blackthorn blossoms are indeed in full bloom.

‘Growing amongst the roots of the tree are violets and lesser celandine.Dead leaves have gathered here and decayed , giving nourishment to the roots of the violets which like soft humus.’

I’m not sure what soft humus is, but it seems to be true…..

ladybird spring 028ladybird spring 032

ladybird spring 017
Male Goosander.
ladybird spring 029
Speedwell.
ladybird spring 021
Magpie.

‘ Magpies are wily birds and it is extremely difficult to get near enough to shoot them, but many countrymen do so when they can, and feel they have done a good deed.’

Hmmm not sure country folk go round shooting Magpies, but some do salute them!

ladybird spring 018
Watchful Grey Squirrel.
ladybird spring 033
Wood -anemones.

‘In a woodland opening we find wood-anemones which spread by underground stems and are consequently all close together.’

Saw carpets of these pretty white flowers in the woods.:)

ladybird spring 035
Wild Strawberry or Barren Strawberry flower,not sure which.

It was the perfect day for a walk up a country lane with views of Pendle Hill, its  slopes looking almost gentle from this distance.

ladybird spring 036
Marsh Marigolds or King Cups.

We know that March will soon be followed by April-when windows can be opened again,and hedgehogs and dormice can end their hibernation and enjoy the sunshine.With Spring comes the greatest wonder of the year-possibly even more beautiful than Summer.’

I certainly agree that Spring is full of wonder. Every day new flowers appear and life is springing up everywhere. If you have a ladybird book or any nature publication from the past, why not see how wildlife compares ,then and now.Let me know how you get on. X

 

 

18 thoughts on “What to look for in Spring ~ A Ladybird Book.”

  1. magpies used to be shot/are shot as they are considered vermin and they are known for eating eggs of other birds, especially ground nesters and young chicks so ground keepers would shoot them to protect pheasant etc

  2. And a fair few farmers still shoot mapies (and other corvids, and wood pigeons and the like) as they just think they’re a nuisance!

    I love the idea of taking the book out – I might steal that idea when I’m struggling for one of my ‘366 Days Wild’! Like you, I have all four books and do have a few other natures titles which I always intend to expand but I never spend any time seeking them out!

    1. I know what farmers are like,I’m actually from farming stock.My Dad would shoot anything that moved from the bedroom windows of the farm house we lived in.It was not even a surprise when a wood pigeon landed at your feet whilst walking up the yard.Ha..I thought that was just my Dad though….Yes do it.It makes for a fun and interesting walk.:)

  3. I forgot to say – regarding soft humus – humus is the decaying plant and animal matter contained within the top layer of soil. That’s one of the few things I’ve managed to remember from school science lessons, haha!

  4. Lovely post, and great idea taking the book out to find Spring, maybe not for the Magpie, safely it still goes on. Large numbers of Crows will be shot while on the nest, very sad.
    Love the book though will have to look out for it.
    Amanda xx

Leave a Reply

