Sunday Sevens 21st August.

Sunday Seven’s is a roundup of my week and is devised by Natalie at Threads & Bobbins . I’ve actually just had two weeks off work. Today is the last day of my Summer holidays. Oh my, I might just cut a tragic figure at work on Monday morning!  Here’s a few pictures of what I’ve been up to this past 7 days.

Last Sunday we had a yummy breakfast after a pleasant nights stay at The Bear’s Paw in Warmingham, Cheshire. It was a stop off point on our journey home from Spring Park in Cornwall and I’ve reviewed it in my Hotel stays with Petspyjamas post.  Petspyjamas is a website that specializes in Pet-friendly holidays and hotel stays, so do read my blog if you fancy taking your four legged friend away with you on your next trip. ๐Ÿ™‚

wp-image-1409672920jpg.jpg

I found a recipe for an interesting looking vegetarian dip to eat with pitta bread in The Simple Things magazine, called Muhammara. It contains pomegranate molasses which luckily can now be found in my cupboard!  Only because my last foodie penpal sent me some from sunny Cyprus. ๐Ÿ™‚  Anyway it actually turned out ok, and Wil and I consumed the lot whilst watching Mark Cavendish battle for a Silver Medal in the Omnium. Hasn’t Team GB done well!

3d9fa5e7fbbb71197b2739ea5bfae43f.jpg

I’ve watched a few films this week and here’s a gem that I really enjoyed. The Mermaid  is a Chinese Rom Com ( subtitled) directed by Stephen Chow and China’s highest grossing movie. I’m a bit of a mermaid movie fan ( there’s a Splash remake happening right now!) but this could be my new fave film featuring fish-tailed folk. The storyline revolves around a young mermaid who is sent to murder a billionaire tycoon whose money has paid for  sea life destroying sonar technology. Slapstick hilarity follows as her crazy attempts to kill him go haplessly wrong. It’s a fantasy,romance,comedy, action pic with an environmental message and I loved it.

 

Saturday was fun as my friend Anne let me accompany her to a Steampunk event in Hebden Bridge. You may remember from one of my previous posts, that when Wil and I tried to go there recently, we somehow managed to completely miss our turning into the town. With Anne driving  Hebden Bridge lost its Brigadoon status! I managed to take a few photos in between showers of some of the amazing steampunk outfits. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hope you had a good week and thanks for dropping by.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Sunday Sevens 21st August.”

  1. That movie sounds very very interesting. I mean, just upon reading about mermaid who was set out to kill someone … that’s gotta be so promising.

Leave a Reply

