Wildlife pics every day in October. Week two.

october-2-003

8th October.  Blackberries in the park. A late Summer and Autumn fruit that can be made into allsorts of lovely puddings, pies, jellies, junkets and jams. Here is a recipe for Apple & Blackberry Crumble .

 

9th October. Today (Sunday) turned out to be a good nature spotting day as it was sunny and still warm enough not to wear a coat. Although in the morning we had spied lots of squirrels at  Gawthorpe Hall , it was our afternoon walk around Standen on the outskirts of Clitheroe that proved more fruitful. I hope I have identified these right! The fungi looks like Ink Cap Mushrooms which are apparently edible.If they are them however, they are poisonous when combined with alcohol ~ leading  to their other moniker ‘Tippler’s Bane’. :b. The Dragonfly is a Common  Darter which is one of the few dragonflies that are around well into Autumn. The beautiful butterfly is a Comma , so named because the species have a white marking on their underside similar to a comma.:)

october-2-055

10th October.  View of the rather straggly honeysuckle in my backyard. It never has many flowers and those that bloom don’t have the lovely scent that wild honeysuckle has. 😦

october-2-060

11th October. A-haaah my friend the Grey Heron!  There’s a particular spot on the river protected by a canopy of trees, that heron’s like to fish. I was passing with Hugo ( my dog) at just the right time to capture this photo. 🙂

wp-image-1898293823jpg.jpg

12th October.  A sunny morning though a bit nippy. These Elderberries grow by a wall which is a bit of  a sun trap. The shrub’s clusters of fragrant creamy white blossom that bloom in the summer lend their flowers to cordials and champagne. The berries of Autumn can be made into wine and preserves.

wp-image-1667733289jpg.jpg

13th October. I love the candy striped flowers of the Herb Robert. They look so delicate but can flower well into Autumn.

wp-image-1434642590jpg.jpg

14th October. One of my favourite Autumn flowers is the orange Chinese Lantern. A house nearby has an abundance of them adorning its garden.

Thanks for joining me in my second week of posting a wildlife photo every day in October…

 What have you spotted whilst out and about? 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Wildlife pics every day in October. Week two.”

  1. Lovely post yet again! We seemed to have spotted similar sightings over the week! I too spotted a heron but as I got closer it flew away 😦 Thanks for IDing the dragonfly. It looks like we took very similar pictures of one 🙂 I love comma butterflies but they rarely sit still enough for me to photograph, you caught a good snap of it 🙂 x

    1. Thank you.I hope I have correctly Ideed the dragon fly and mushrooms.I usually depend on Louise from ramblings of a roachling to put me right.:) Heres to another week.I hope we have more sunshine this weekend.x

  2. A great collection of ‘wild’ photos! Yes I think all your identifications are correct (though I could be wrong!). Definitely a comma and the dragonfly and mushrooms I think are correct.

Leave a Reply

