How we spent our week in Dumfries & Galloway.

I thought I would write one more holiday post before I say a final goodbye to Scotland as I still have a few more photos to share with you. Stopping in the South West of the country in November meant that a lot of visitor attractions are winding down or already closed, especially in such a relatively quiet area as Dumfries & Galloway. However we still found things to see and do, always accompanied by our Black Labrador Hugo of course. πŸ™‚

Hiked to St Ninian’s Cave.   We took a short hike to visit the sea-cave retreat of Scotland’s first missionary saint. St Ninian set up the first church in nearby Whithorn and also used this cave as a place of solace and prayer. The original Celtic Cross Carvings that adorned the walls can now be found in Whithorn Museum but people from all over the world still make pilgrimages here, leaving gifts and makeshift crosses. We parked at the small car park at Kidsdale ( honesty box payment) , walked down to the shore through a woody glen and the cave can be seen on the right, a short stroll along the rocky beach. The cult movie ‘The Wicker Man’ was filmed in the area.

Visited Scotland’s National Book Town.   Yes Scotland has a National Book Town !  Wigtown on the Machars peninsula has a high concentration of book shops ( I counted ten) , including the largest book shop in Scotland, imaginatively called ‘The Book Shop’. The building doesn’t look very vast from the outside, but is deceptively tardis like from the moment you step indoors. And it’s also home to a very cute  Bookshop cat,so Hugo didn’t visit this one !  We found a couple of bookshop/cafes that are pet friendly including ‘Beltie Books’ and ‘Reading Lassies’, the latter has a cute resident collie. Soz, I am slightly dog/cat crazy.  What I should say is, if you love books, you will be in your element here. πŸ™‚ The town has an annual Book Festival every September.

Ate out in pretty Portpatrick.  Although we stayed in most evenings ( we had such a cosy holiday cottage, it was hard to leave after darkness fell) , we did go out for lunch…and even afternoon tea , in the pretty little fishing village of Portpatrick. With it’s pastel coloured cottages and impressive community bought harbor, the village is picture postcard perfect. It’s also a great place to try fresh seafood. Wil can heartily recommend the Cod Loin Au Poivre at the seafront ‘Crown Hotel’ ( I had a taste , and it was delicious) and their Seafood platter sounds impressive. As a Birthday treat for moi , Wil had booked afternoon tea at the Fernhill Hotel. With stunning cliff top views over the harbor and beyond, the Fernhills afternoon tea comes served in darling vintage crockery. Both establishments are down to earth, friendly and welcome dogs too.

Explored Castle Kennedy Gardens and grounds.  Galloway’s most well known gardens are situated between two natural lochs in the grounds of two historic castles near Stranraer. 75 acres  of forest trails, a huge lily pond, lochside walks, rhododendron displays, a walled garden and Champion trees. As well as exploring the parkland, we actually stopped here , in a lovely cottage on the estate.  You can read about our stay here  and check out lots of pictures of the local wildlife, which include Roe Deer and Red squirrels. πŸ™‚

 

Looked for Lighthouses.  The Rhins of Galloway ( rhins means points or headlands) are renowned for their numerous lighthouses, mostly built by members of the same family as the writer Robert Louis Stevenson !  I did write  A separate Lighthouse Post . about our visits to Corsewall Lighthouse and The Mull of Galloway Lighthouse. Both are havens for wildlife including seabird colonies and Grey Seal. πŸ™‚ Depending on the time of year it may be possible to take a lighthouse tour on the Mull. Another Stevenson built beacon that I didn’t include, can be found five miles from Portpatrick, on the Southern Upland Way. Killantringan is privately owned. A 1970s shipwreck can sometimes be viewed at low tide apparently.

 

Visited an Artist’s Town.  The quality of light brought and still brings many artists to the harbor town of Kirkcudbright and there is a popular Arts and Crafts trail for visitors to enjoy. We bobbed here on our journey back to England, and it is somewhere I would love to return to and spend more time . Apart from having a wee wander round, we actually bought a picture of a Lighthouse from one of the local galleries. It is an Artist’s Town after all!  We also enjoyed Fish & Chips from ‘Polar Bites’ and shared them with Hugo.:)

So that is how we spent our week.

Have you ever visited the area?  Where would you recommend a visit in South West Scotland?

14 thoughts on “How we spent our week in Dumfries & Galloway.”

  1. Visited Dumfries and Galloway a few times to see the Red Pandas at Galloway Wildlife Park!

    I too have visited Scotland in Autumn when the tourist trail is slowing down. David and I visited Stirling and the highlands several times in autumn and both times we found some sites were closed. I was most disappointed to find Balmoral closed a week before we visited in 2013! I will just have to visit in the summer, or wait for my invitation :p.

    Wonderful post yet again Sharon. I am finding little to write about recently! πŸ˜₯

    1. There were so many places we never got to go to….but we still loved it. I have been Balmoral…when I was a child.My Mum and dad took us caravaning in Scotland every year. I am now obviously rediscovering mylove for Scotland!
      Not sure what I shall write about next.Ideas I’m thinking of…which you could do to πŸ™‚ include A round up of my year in photos, Visting a Christmas fair or market, keeping cosy in Winter.Any of those help? X

      1. I could do photo round up for the year, but then I do a video of the year at new years, but could do separate posts. Just need a day out, but with Christmas looming, I’m panicking about present buying! Know of any photo an hour days coming up? x

      2. Hi Christine, trying to find out about the photo an hour post. Will certainly inform you when I know. Got a bit more of my shopping done this afternoon. Decided on getting god children/niece and nephew clothes and books instead of toys ( was easier) and Wil and I are just treating ourselves and each other to a day out in Manchester instead of buying presents.x

      3. I was thinking the same about days out as presents. David spoilt me on my birthday so I don’t really need anything. I’ve been trying to get presents, but this year I’m a little slow and the time is approaching. Hopefully all will come together. Look forward to your next post xx

  2. Sounds like you had a wonderful week. Happy belated birthday! My experience of that part of Scotland is a bit limited. My family were around Glasgow and further up the West coast. I do miss our Scottish holidays – we often escaped up there before children and before relocating too far away to pack up the car and drive off for a long weekend or week up north! Your posts have brought back many happy memories thank you! πŸ™‚

  3. Aw your welcome! My aunt and uncle lived in Paisley near Glasgow so we did go to that area quite alot.Often the seaside at Largs or Loch Lomond.Have not been for years! X

  4. I did love Portpatrick. πŸ™‚ We did the Logan Botanical Gardens from there too. Always wanted to visit that Wigtown bookshop though. Some day! Maybe a rainy one πŸ™‚ Have a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

