Sunday Sevens 14th May.

 

Hi here is my Sunday Sevens ~ a collection of 7 photos from the last seven days. 🙂 Last Sunday I found myself mooching round my local town of Blackburn, which was playing host to ‘The National Festival Of Making’.  This was a free family festival devised to showcase British making and manufacturing , with workshops, art installations and markets.  Now I’m not much of a maker myself, but I did enjoy the craft fairs and art aspects of the festival. And it was good to see good old Blackburn all spruced up for the occasion!  Hopefully it was a mighty success and has helped bring prosperity to the area.

Blackburn Cathedral.
20170507_112139
A bit of yarn bombing in Blackburn.

At the moment I am reading ‘The Essex Serpent’ by Sarah Perry. I have only just started it , but so far so good.  Set at the end of the nineteenth century, this gothic tale involves an Essex village terrorised by a dragon like creature and a young fossil collecting widow ,who  attracted by the tales of this ‘ mythical’ beast ,sets her heart upon finding it. No doubt the real monsters will be the ones inside the characters heads. We shall see…

 

IMG_20170513_200249_793
The Essex  Serpent.

On Friday we packed the car for a spot of camping.  We didn’t venture very far on our first camping trip of 2017. We stayed just outside of the village of Scorton, perched on the edge of the Forest Of Bowland A0NB.  Despite it only being about 45 minutes away, this is an area of Lancashire we have never really visited before.

 

We had a camping field all to ourselves , which was good as we had some trouble putting up our new tent!  Nothing more embarrassing than being stared at whilst wrestling with a bunch of awkward poles…. 🙂

scorton and heysham 041
The road to and from Sunderland Point.

I will be blogging about our trip so I won’t include the lovely walks we found or our couple of hours in the coastal village of Heysham. Instead here is a photo of my big regret. Our extremely brief visit to Sunderland Point !  This is a tiny settlement by the sea, that gets cut off by the tide twice a day. Unfortunately I had done no research on tide times and left my phone back in the tent. So after driving warily across the tidal causeway,  we almost immediately got spooked, and practically raced back !  Sigh. We will return someday I’m sure.

scorton and heysham 118
Beacon Fell Sculpture.

Today on our way back home from Scorton we decided to take Hugo on a walk round ‘Beacon Fell Country Park’ near Chipping.  Much to my delight we happened across a Sculpture Trail. 🙂  I’m sure I will be blogging about that too !

Our trip got us in the holiday mood. We have now booked a week away in Norfolk. Can’t wait !

Sunday Sevens was devised by the lovely Natalie at Threads And Bobbins.

21 thoughts on “Sunday Sevens 14th May.”

  1. I have the Essex serpent waiting to be read, it looks like a great book.

    Your camping trip looks like fun, I can understand you getting spooked by the tidal causeway, there’s always a worry that you’ll get caught out.

    1. I love the cover of the book and the way it is written is beautiful too. Sunderland Point is definitely somewhere I would like to return to. We literally spent 1 minute there, saw the car park has a sign saying ‘underwater at high tide’ and turned right round….x

  2. Another wonderful post! Blackburn Cathedral sure looks lovely. Blackburn is a place I’ve not visited. I am sure you will get back to Sutherland Point at some stage. It’s always best to be safe! Your tent looks very roomy and I look forward to you blogging about the sculpture trail. 🙂 xx

    1. Blackburn is not the prettiest place to be honest. I think it got a bit of a facelift for the festival. Our tent is bigger than we thought it would be! But its nice to have a bit more space. 🙂 x

    1. We did have very warm sleeping bags plus a big quilt over the top. It was quite toasty! Hugo can always be relied upon to cosy up to as well. 🙂

  3. Lovely week. You always seem to pack so much in – do you have a time turner? The Essex Serpent was our book groups book last month. I didn’t have time to read it, but it was Radio 4’s book at bedtime in April, so I listened to it. From our discussion what i heard was so abridged, I missed a real treat. Fortunately it was also so abridged, I don’t think that I listen will spoil actually reading it when I do have time 🙂

    1. I’m loving the book so far. I hope the ending is as good as the journey to get there! I would love a time turner. I absolutely don’t have one honest. 😉 x

  4. I haven’t been to the Forest of Bowland but Countryfile did a feature about the Lancashire witches walk, which was fascinating and the walk although 51 miles long looks very picturesque. Did you go anywhere near there? Enjoy your holiday in Norfolk. Where are you staying?

    1. I live very near Pendle Hill anyway so I’m definitely in Lancashire Witches country. As a child after one snowy winter the snow melted and actually left the shape of a witch on a broomstick. My mum still has a picture of it as it was on the land we farmed. Spooky!

      1. Hunstanton is an old fashioned seaside town with endless beaches and fab sunsets. You can walk towards Holme next-to-sea which is a Norfolk Wildlife Trust. There is a cafe there too. From there you can walk on the coastal path to Thorham village and beyond. There are nice restaurants and the Thornham deli. Most places in Norfolk are dog friendly. All the coastal villages going in that direction are well worth a visit by walking or car. Blakeney is lovely and the Cley marshes Norfolk Wildlife Trusts visitor centre is great. You’ll have a good time I’m sure! Keep me posted! 🙂

      2. Yay sounds great. I’m beyond excited to be going somewhere completely new. It sounds like our dog will love it too. Thanks for the info!

      1. True, you can almost face anything when the sun is shining.Yesterday it was wonderful here and everyone seemed in a chirpy mood. Today – rain and grey skies, bleurgh !

Leave a Reply

