A family friendly bike ride ~ Lancaster, Hest Bank and Morecambe.

It’s been a good few years since I’ve got on a bike, never mind atempted to ride one, so when our  friends  suggested a family friendly cycle route between Lancaster and Morecambe, I was a little apprehensive to say the least. But after borrowing one of Wil’s bike helmets, my sister’s bike ( Thanks Sis! ) and my 7 year old niece, I was good to go. šŸ™‚

We began our cycling adventure in Lancaster, parking on a small pay and display car park , not far from the Millenium Bridge. The route , which was mostly flat ( hurrah ! ) and part of the Lancashire Cycleway  took us along an impressive expanse of car free cycle paths. It meandered through woodland, clung to canal side, dodged the crowds on Morecambe Sea Front and followed and crossed the River Lune , before arriving back at our beginnings 20km later. 

The kids were nothing short of impressive on this bike ride. šŸ™‚  It’s perfect for families though, with only a couple of roads to cross and various refreshment stops.  My friend Jo and I decided we would have to invest in some padded cycling shorts for our next outing!  Boy am I sore today. Ouch! 

I didn’t manage to take as many photos as I would have liked, due to my rather precarious bicycle balance. So a few  of these pics were taken by Jo and Fi. The one of Lune Aqueduct, I pinched off Pinterest.

Ready ! Steady ! Go !
We crossed the impressive Lune Aqueduct that carries the Lancaster canal over the river Lune.

The Hest Bank Inn is a great refreshment stop.
Fish & Chips in a Basket. Nom Nom.
Look out tower , Morecambe.
Big Bird…..and small bird. Ha Ha. šŸ™‚

Colourful seating outside The Midland Hotel.
The Millenium bridge crosses The River Lune in Lancaster.

We all really enjoyed our bike trip. Any recommendations for fairly easy … and flat routes, in the North West , let me know. šŸ™‚ 

19 thoughts on “A family friendly bike ride ~ Lancaster, Hest Bank and Morecambe.”

  1. Lovely pics and well done for getting back on a bike. So nice riding without cars. A shame our towns and cities aren’t more bike friendly like other places in Europe. I don’t have padded shorts, but bought a comfy saddle – often referred to as my ‘big bum’ saddle – to replace the standard one on my bike. It makes a world of difference.

  2. Looks like a great ride, I have a electric bike and its amazing, I now leave my husband standing on the hills and he is a cyclist! sadly we don’t get out together as much as I would like, and yes padded shorts are a must.
    Amanda xx

    1. Thanks Christine. I think you would be ok, once you get your confidence and balance. I don’t think I would have liked a busy road though, so the cycleway is a great idea. Xx

  3. My husband lived in Hest Bank a few years ago, before we moved in together, so I know all too well how good a spot the Hest Bank Inn is for ‘refreshments!’ It looks like you had a lovely day for your cycle too.

    1. I had never been to Hest Bank before Sunday. I guess you can walk along the beach from there to Archers Cafe at Red Bank farm? Camped there a few years ago. The Inn at Hest Bank was definitely a God send. šŸ™‚ x

Leave a Reply

