Ling Fell and Lunch.

Another Wainwright Fell was ticked off the list recently. Ling Fell near Bassenthwaite Lake is a small steep dome shaped hill strewn with bracken, then heather, the further you ascend. There’s a stone pillar trig point at the top and lake and fell views. On a clear day you can make out the Scottish hills of Dumfries & Galloway.

I always, always wonder why I put myself through walking up hills, until I reach the top of course. Then I forget how much it’s hurt and how I have to stop so often , and only feel triumphant elation! Ling Fell is mine and Hugos 13th Wainwright Fell. Wil has done at least one more, and perhaps more when he was younger. 201 more to go!

After a Wainwright walk, I happen to think a treat is well deserved. I had booked us in for lunch at a real Lake District Gem , Bassenthwaite Lake Station opposite Dubwath Silver Meadows Nature Reserve. The former station of this long disused Railway is now a lovely eaterie. What’s more, a replica steam train from a film set , serves as the main part of the cafe. I have blogged about Bassenthwaite Lake Station previously here.

It’s always great to find somewhere beautiful & quirky, that serves delicious food and is dog friendly too. Bassenthwaite Lake Station even has its own resident Black Labrador called Poppy, who can be seen charming the clientele. Hugo was more interested in charming the waiting on staff.

Lunch was fresh and tasty. Wil enjoyed his Platelayer Salad and I loved my Crispy gnocchi with salad vegetables and mozzarella cheese. We both plumped for delicious desserts too. Key Lime Pie and Lemon Meringue Cheesecake.

Bassenthwaite Lake Station is the ideal place to treat yourself after a hike in the fells or refuel before a lakeside walk. And enjoyed even more so with a four legged friend. 🐾

💖💖