September ~ Round Up. 💜

There’s an Autumnal nip in the air as I write this post. Summer is slipping away. Though actually, I am more than ready for cosy throws and candles. 🙂

Although September has had its sadness , with the loss of our monarch, there is much to celebrate about our Queens long life and reign. And it will be interesting to see what changes will unfold in this new non Elizabethan era.

The Bloody Chamber and other stories by Angela Carter.

Reading. A sensual and sometimes disturbing gothic retelling of fairytales and legends, often with a feisty female heroine at the heart of the stories. Angela Carter twists the tales around , recreating a carnival of familiar characters. One for the nights drawing in.

Extraordinary Attorney Woo.

Watching. My favourite BBC comedy series is back for Autumn. And by golly, I’ve binge watched it already. Ghosts sees the return of Alison & Mike ( the only living residents of stately mansion ‘ Button House ‘. ) hoping to transform an estate cottage into an Airbnb. Help ( or hindrance) is on hand from a motley collection of ghosts, of which only Alison can see. I love that the ghosts are all from differing time periods, and each has their own particular life ( and death! ) story. Apparently there’s now a US version of this show. Surely can’t be better than ours. 😀

I am also loving Korean Comedy Drama Extraordinary Attorney Woo on Netflix. In fact merely writing this blog post is keeping me from watching it right now, I’m becoming addicted ! And that’s no mean feat ,with subtitles and hour long episodes involved. Attorney Woo is an attorney with autism, navigating life at a high ranking law firm. There’s the intricacies of Korean law to contend with ( she’s good at that) and the intricacies of everyday life ( not always so good), an endearing obsession with whales & dolphins and a sweet burgeoning romance with a work colleague. I am adoring this show.

Eating. Gingerbread! Traditional Gingerbread from Grasmere no less. Sarah Nelson’s Grasmere Gingerbread has been made in the village since the 1850s, Sarah herself created the secret recipe and first sold it from a tree stump outside her front door. Eventually moving her business into a tiny old school house , that is still used today. The gorgeous gingerbread smell wafts around Grasmere attracting locals and tourists alike. I got in that queue. Always delicious 😋.

Weekend wandering. Speeking of Grasmere, we ended up here by mistake. Our plan had actually been to walk up Raven Crag from Thirlmere, adding another Wainwright to our short list. However we somehow failed to find the carpark, drove right past the lake and ended up at Grasmere. No complaints though, it was a lovely late Summers day, perfect for a stroll around the village and the water.

Pastille coloured rowing boats on the lakeside at Faeryland Tea Garden.
Hot drinks and a Gypsy Wagon.
Traveller Hugo.
Doggy paddling.

Another day we headed over Alston Moor to Garrigill for a hike taking in Ashgill Force. I love the beckside walk , which is usually peaceful, sometimes the quiet is interupted by the odd group of Gill Scramblers! Not sure I would want to try that myself though. We found a lovely cafe for lunch in a converted chapel in nearby Nenthead.

Highland Cattle on Alston Moor.
Ashgill Force.
Distant Gill Scramblers.
The Hive at Nenthead. There’s still an Organ inside.

Wildlife. The amount of times I see Kingfishers is ridiculous ( I realise I’m very lucky) , though getting a photo of one doesn’t happen very often. I was gobsmacked when one of these beautiful birds posed for me, only a few metres away. ❤️

Kingfisher.

Hanging out with. Star Wars Characters! And other supernatural beings at Blackburn Comic Convention. As I have still never actually watched the Star Wars films ( I know, what! ) this might appear a little strange. Blame my friends A and M who love all this kind of stuff. And it was actually fun.

Hanging out

So that was my September. How was yours?

25 thoughts on “September ~ Round Up. 💜”

  1. The kingfisher photo is lovely – I think I’ve only seen one in the wild. I’m always surprised by how many people I know who haven’t seen Star Wars because it’s so embedded in popular culture. I remember seeing Return of the Jedi when I was only about 6 years old, loved the ewoks and the fiesty princess Leia. I still love the original trilogy and Rogue One but less keen on the others. X

    1. I think if I had watched the originals as a child, i would maybe be more fond of them. Now there are so many Star Wars films, I am loathe to start . X

  2. I don’t know about summer slipping away, it seems to have run off at a gallop. It was only a week ago that I was walking round Morecambe wearing a t-shirt and no jacket.

    You’re so lucky to see kingfishers, I’ve never seen one yet even though I often walk in places where they are.

    I don’t know who the woman with the rabbit is but she looks like a character from Alice In wonderland. I’ve never seen Star Wars, it’s just not my thing, but my son loved it when he was young and he collected all the figures. I remember when he was about 12 one of our local cinemas showed all three original films back-to-back, he stayed and watched them all twice and halfway through I took him a picnic tea 🙂

    1. What a good Mum you are. 🙂
      The Woman with the white rabbit is the Mad Hatter from Alice in Wonderland.
      I am very lucky with my kingfisher sightings. I see them so often, I can recognise to their bird call. X

  3. Nice to read about your Seotember & see some lovely photos. Birds are hard to capture with camera, but worth the wait most times. You have some lovely days out. Take care & hugs.

  4. There is a small car park close to the start of the walk up to Raven Crag. I can send you a drop-pin the next time you visit, if you like. You’ve enjoyed another busy month. I don’t know about you, but I’m often left wondering where the time goes.
    Well done on capturing the image of the Kingfisher. Xx

  5. Love the kingfisher shot! I walk at a local nature reserve and although I catch a glimpse of a Kingfisher now and again, it’s always just a flash of blue or orange. Fabulous to capture one like that.

    I’ve just looked at Extraordinary Attorney Woo, that could definitely be my next thing to fall into. Possibly with coffee and chocolate when the Mr is off army-ing.

    1. Kingfishers are definitely mostly seen as a streak of blue or orange, I think I’ve just been very lucky. Attorney Woo is a very endearing show, I really liked it. X

  6. I haven’t seen a kingfisher this year at all, even that lovely streak of blue. I am in awe that you were able to get a photo, I have never seen one still enough for that! It’s male by the way as females have a little streak of red on their beak 😉

    I love that you ended up in Grasmere by mistake! That gingerbread is delicious.

Leave a comment