An Autumn Weekends Wanderings. 🎃

Believe it or not, there were as many showers as rays of sunshine 🌞 on Saturday. Somehow we managed to dodge the rain quite expertly though, as you can see by my photos. You’ll just have to imagine the speedy dashes to the car , to get out of the sudden downpours.

A trial Pumpkin Patch at Kirkoswald was the mornings destination. It was so close by ( to the caravan) that I just had to drag Wil and Hugo for a wander round a field of giant ( and teeny) pumpkins. The Patch belongs to Eden Valley farmer and writer Hannah Jackson aka The Red Shepherdess . I hadn’t heard of her until very recently , apparently she is quite the celebrity in Cumbria. Anyway if your in the area over the upcoming school holidays Red’s Pumpkin Patch is opening again, until all the Gourds are gone. Just take your wellies!

Later on Saturday we visited family in Askham, first we took Hugo for a walk on the Lowther Estate. Not for us today , the impressive Castle Ruins & Garden , we made the most of the footpaths that fan the parkland instead. The sun shone inbetween showers, a bracing breeze whipped up swirling leaves and buzzards soared in the sky.

The heavens opened on our way to visit Mum . After a lovely tea we headed back to the caravan. There’s no cosier evening than one feeling snug and toasty, whilst rain pitter patters on a tin can roof. 😊

Sunday stayed dry and on our way home we called in at Kirkby Lonsdale in South Cumbria. It was warm enough for ice cream at The Milking Parlour on Jingling Lane. I visited my favourite shops and bought a new bobble hat. Happy days. 🍦

Thanks for dropping by. Are you feeling Autumnal yet? 🍁

23 thoughts on “An Autumn Weekends Wanderings. 🎃”

  1. I’m definitely feeling autumnal, now that the weather has turned cooler. I am also feeling that a visit to Kirkby Lonsdale is long overdue, although I suspect it will be hot chocolate rather than an ice cream for me. Xx

  2. I love the photo of the almost black skies – and the one of a passionflower. Autumn seems to come to the south a bit sooner. When I was in Chester last weekend, most trees were still green, to my disappointment. I follow the Red Shepherdess on Instagram, but I didn’t realize she owns a pumpkin field 🙂

    1. I hadn’t actually heard of her until I saw the pumpkin patch advertised. Anyway it was nice to visit. She’s hoping to do it again next year. 🎃

Leave a comment