Afternoon Tea At Mitton Hall.

A friend’s Birthday and her choice of celebration ? Afternoon Tea. I was there! Mitton Hall near Whalley was her destination decision. This impressive country manor dates back to the 15th century and boasts a timber framed great hall with a walk around gallery. Outside to the rear an attractive stone terrace looks out over gardens and the meandering River Ribble.

Mitton Hall from the rear.
Anyone for 🥂 Champagne?

Our sumptuous Afternoon Tea was served in the decadent dining room with its busy wallpaper and portraits of nattily attired canines. Mitton Hall is dog friendly by the way. On this occasion though, I was glad not to have a drooling Labrador waiting to devour my dainty sandwiches and fluffy scones. ☺️

Afternoon Tea ( photo A Garley ).
Keeping an eye out for treats?

Most of us opted for the Traditional Afternoon Tea ( £19-50 per head) which came displayed on an elegant curved stand. The savoury selection was excellent and included three finger sandwiches, smoked mackerel & horseradish pate en croute, caremelised onion tartlet and a mushroom cappuccino, which I especially enjoyed.

Savouries.
Scones on top.

The scones too were delicious and baked to perfection. They came served with the obligatory jam and clotted cream.

Sweet Treats Below.

The sweet treats were a little hit and miss with everyone. I loved the After Eight Brownie and the Blueberry Macaron. The Chestnut & Chocolate Swirl was a bit meh and I wasn’t too keen on the Banoffee Pie or the 3 Leches Sponge. I totally forgot to photograph the tea! I enjoyed my Raspberry & Elderflower.

That Fireplace! ( photo A Mader).
On the Terrace ( photo R Preston).

I have sampled Afternoon Tea at Mitton Hall several times over the years, it’s always a nice place to return to. A relaxing and ideal setting to meet up with friends.

Ps ~ It was still the Winter Menu on our visit.

35 thoughts on “Afternoon Tea At Mitton Hall.”

  1. I’m afraid portraits of dogs dressed in human clothes don’t do it for me at all but I guess they were the fashion at one time. The afternoon tea looks and sounds very sumptuous and delicious although I don’t think I could eat my way through twenty quid’s-worth of food.

  2. Looks delicious, afternoon tea always seems like a lovely treat. The last time I had afternoon tea was my baby shower around Christmas 2019, but have another booked for a friend’s baby shower in April. X

  3. What a gorgeous building and a beautiful place to visit. It sounds like you all had a lovely time, and the food looks so delicious. Xx

Leave a comment