A bloggers Christmas gift swap.

My most anticipated present to open this Christmas was without a doubt a well wrapped parcel I recieved in the post.

I took part in Janet’s ‘Thrifty Christmas Gift Swap’ which she has organized in the past too. I’m glad she decided to do it again this year.

Janet who blogs at Words that can only be your own made sure that everyone was randomly given a name of someone also taking part to buy for. I ended up getting Janet herself.No presure there then! :))

The aim was to be thrifty with your purchases.Find or make little gifts. Look in charity shops etc. Here is what I got Janet.

image

I made her a teacup candle ( I can’t sew , but I can make candles! ) as she likes vintage treasures. I also purchased a couple of cute and Christmassy brooches made by talented craft fair friends and luckilly Janet loves this time of year so a birdie tree decoration went in the box too. Finally I found a book of short stories by feminist authors from a second hand book shop in my home town. I think they went down well.:)

image

I too recieved a package in the post and above are all the lovely goodies that it contained! I was delighted when I saw that my parcel was from Louisa.Her blog Duck In A Dress is another of my faves. 🙂

image

Louisa really did her homework as all her gifts were so thoughtful and I love them all. She truelly spoilt me! Look at my beautiful Cath Kidston mug and Christmas card.

image

There were edible Christmas goodies galore too ,including a tasty selection of baked goods from her local farm shop Farringtons.

image

There was even a mini bottle of prosecco to wash them down with. And my goodies came with Alice in Wonderland ‘Eat Me’ and ‘Drink Me’ tags.

My favourite item from Louisa is without a doubt this childrens book from 1949 called ‘Plant and Animal Ways’.

image

It is packed full of gorgeous wildlife illustrations.Its an American publication and chapters include ‘Slippers and Sliders’ ( about snakes!), ‘Monkey Manners’ and ‘Fiddle Heads, Fronds and Ferns’. 🙂

Thanks to Janet for organizing the swap and Louisa for my fab pressies. X

6 thoughts on “A bloggers Christmas gift swap.”

  1. Yay! I’m so glad it arrived safely! I saw that book in our local secondhand bookshop and instantly thought it’d be perfect for you, I think the pictures in it are quite beautiful! I do like the birdie decoration you sent Janet as well 🙂 xx

  2. It’s a pleasure, and I’m very glad you were pleased with Louisa’s choices. I absolutely loved my parcel – all Christmas delights and feminist reads, it was very me! I’ll definitely be running the swap in future, hope you’ll take part again.

Leave a comment