Wild buds and blooms.

At the weekend we were blessed with actual warm sunshine and blue skies. On my walks with Hugo I took my camera along to record the abundance of wild flowers that had literally sprung up in the April sun rays.

P1080293
Blackthorn Blossom.
P1080294
Sunshiney Celandines. The leaves were a valuable source of vitamin C to prevent scurvy.
P1080290
Paraglider enjoying the blue skies.
P1080260
Buds.
P1080259
Early morning Wood Anenome.
P1080263
Horsetail grass.
P1080266
Perhaps a flowering red currant?
P1080274
A leafy umbrella.
P1080288
Barren strawberry flowers.
P1080285
Ivy leaved Toadflax.
P1080289
Female pheasant in the grass.
P1080278
Daffs in Pendleton Village.
P1080279
Daffodils.
P1080287
Masses of Marsh Marigolds, also known as King-Cups.
P1080295
Blue Forget-me-nots.

P1080268

I also saw my first butterflies of the season, a small tortoiseshell and a cabbage white, though still waiting to see my first swallow. Spring really has sprung….at last. 🙂

25 thoughts on “Wild buds and blooms.”

  1. The unidentified one looks like an invasive weed called Horsetail or mare’s tail. I’ve been frantically beheading any I find to prevent it spreading spores all over our garden.😣

  2. Great photos and lovely flowers. It’s amazing that after all the wet weather we had recently just a few days sunshine and everything suddenly seems to burst into life 🙂

  3. Beautiful post. I did not know Celandines were a source of vitamin c, I would have chomped on some on my way around Latrigg 🙂 It is amazing to see how a little bit of sunshine can make the flowers grow 🙂 xx

  4. It was amazing how everything just sprang into life this weekend. Our first bluebell opened this morning. The tadpoles hatched within in a week and I released a red admiral from the garage, I guess it over wintered inside. Lovely pictures from your walk.

    1. Thanks Cathy. Just saw my first bluebells this morning when walking the dog. Your red admiral will have loved getting out in that sunshine. 🙂

  5. Thanks for taking us along on the walk & taking lots of photos. They are beautiful & good to see Spring is finally on it’s way for you. Take care.

  6. aha..thank you for solving the mystery. Dad and I came across that horsetail grass on Sunday when we walked up Carnmoney Hill and we hadn’t a clue what it was. It’s so odd looking and slightly prehistoric !

    1. Thats ok, I didn’t know what on earth it was either, then a couple of bloggers told me in their comments. I had never seen one before. Looks like they might be more common than I thought!

  7. Hi Sharon, thanks for the comment on my blog, you asked about the scavenger photo hunt list – it is always at the top right of my blog, but to save you having to nip over to check – I have listed it below for you – hope you can join in, you always have such a wealth of photos, that fit my words, I am sure you can do it!!
    Swirl
    Rock
    Wood
    Letter
    Balance
    My own choice

Leave a comment