Star Anise Christmas tree Decorations.

image

When I put the tree up I totally forgot about the handmade tree decorations I atempted a couple of weeks ago. I found a tutorial in LandLove Magazine about using old candle wax to make festive decorations. I thought these star anise stars looked very sweet.

You will need.

saucepan
milkpan
roasting tin
cookie cutters
star anise
candle wax

1.Line roasting tin with baking paper.
2.Melt some wax over a bain-marie.Remove remains of the wicks.
3.Cover base of tin with a thin layer of wax and place cutters on top.
image

4.Lay one star anise in the middle of each and fill with wax, making sure star anise still peek out. This is where I had a problem! The wax seeped out the edges of the cutters. Maybe covering with something heavy super quick as soon as you’ve poured it in may help.
5.Once cooled and set remove from cutters. I lowered them briefly into warm water to loosen.

image

6.Heat a needle over a flame of a candle and make a hole in each decoration so they can be hung up.Use parcel string or ribbon.

image

Most of mine came out to thin and broke.But I managed to salvage a couple and hung them on the tree last night.
So thats my attempt at Christmas crafting.:-D

image

One thought on “Star Anise Christmas tree Decorations.”

Leave a comment